Copyright 2012   Magic Express Tennis Club
“METC Since 1983 '
2019 Just Doubles Tournament
December 27-29, 2019
Tournament Director
John French
(707) 628-2333

Tournament Start Times:
Matches may begin as early as 5:00 pm on Friday and as early as 8 am on Saturday and Sunday. Please check-in at least 15 minutes before scheduled match.

The Draws:
The draw will be posted by 9:00pm, Wednesday, December 25, on the 
Magic Express Tennis Club tournament website:  
It is a player’s responsibility to find out match times.

2 Event Limit 
1 Doubles and 
1 Mixed Doubles

Single Elimination Tournament

No Consolation Rounds 
due to limited court time.


Tournament Site:
Sheffield Indoor Tennis Center
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina 

Entry Fee:
METC members: 
$45 per player per event
Non-METC members:  
$50 per player per event 

There are two (2) deadlines – please read carefully!
1)  All entry forms and payments are due by Sunday, December 15, 2019.  
2)  To ensure proper T-Shirt Sizing, enter by December 8, 2019.

If your payment is not received by Sunday, December 15, 2019, you will not be permitted to play.  
This will be strictly enforced!  

Free parking near the tournament site for the entire weekend!!! All participants will have access the Blue Zone (adjacent to the tennis courts) during the tournament.

Awards will be given to all champions and finalists.  

Each player will receive a long sleeve t-shirt.  To ensure proper sizing, entry must be received by December 8.


Mail entries/payments to:    
METC / PO BOX 72383 / Durham, NC 27722-2383

*All entries and fees must be received by Sunday, December 15, 2019.

No payments will be accepted at the tournament site.

•   USTA rules will prevail.  
•   The default time for a match is 15 minutes and will be enforced.
•   Best 2 out of 3 sets with 12-point tiebreaker at 6 all.  A regular (switch sides after 6 points) 10-point tiebreaker will be played in lieu of a full 3rd set. 
•    Warm-up time is limited to 5 minutes.
Lunch will be provided for players on Saturday, December 29. Snacks will be provided throughout the tournament.  
Actual t-shirt design not displayed in online store. T-shirts will be long-sleeve and royal blue. Update to t-shirt design will be posted  by December 6. One free t-shirt with your participation; and $20 for additional t-shirt.
105 Team Limit / Current Count: 75

Women's 3.0 Doubles
Melissa Hill and Gwynn Thayer
Myra Peterson and Jeme' Avent
Amber Cagle and Suzanne Hoggard
Christine Hutchens and Alison Ferreira
Laura McNevin and Angela Stewart

Women's 3.5 Doubles
Leah Weinberger and Diane Adams
Bernadette David Yerumo and Roberta Hadley
Helen Strickland and Katy Sizemore
Jill Darnell and Amanda Odum
Pamela Hankerson and Mignonne Bridgers
Ashley McRae and Chequetta Nobles
Traci McCluney and Kristen Bremer
Erin McAllister and Janelle Howard

Women's 4.0 Doubles
Deno John and Keisha Price
Cindy Callahan and Sue Norcia
Cynthia Jones and Sheryletta Lacewell

Women's 4.5 Doubles
Heather Remley and Jennifer Shenk
Tessa Radziej and Diofra Azucenas

Women's Open
Caylan Ashworth and Kris McGrath
Mia Bobrowski and MK Waltson

Men's 3.5 Doubles
Diego Angelo and Mark Unruh
Amit Sachan and Tim Hayes
Luis Bello and Steven Harris
Arjun Saha and Debashish Pal
Devoux Olliver and Jounior Johnson

Men's 4.0 Doubles
Ben Thompson and Chris Brown 
William Caldwell and Terry Kougoulos
Dave Rowe and John Parsons
Craig Schauman and Carlos Collado
Bruce Parker and Malcom Harris
Rich Dowler and Kenny Winter
Brian Soltz and Pete Vammino
Adrian Matlock and Dempsey Farmer
Keith Overfield and Brian Baron
Mario Henry and Lance King
Destry Jordan and Anthony Jones

Men's 4.5 Doubles
Brandon Brown and Carl Titka
Simon Cagle and Matt Skelly
Chip Hutchens and Geoff Gisler
Kenny Kornegay and Carl Copeland
Andrew Waddell and Justin Akonful
Praveen and Rohan Chandrasekhar
John McLean and Larry Robinson

Mixed 6.0 Doubles
Melissa Hill and Steve Crell
Jeme' Avent and Duane Hall
Laura McNiven and Stephen Fu

Mixed 7.0 Doubles
Myra Peterson and John Peterson
Leah Weinberger and James Murphy
Shannon Phillips and Ron Pratt
Traci McCluney and Frederick Holding
Cameron Bradley and Joseph Goffney

Mixed 8.0 Doubles
Robin Evans and Terry Kougoulos
Katy Sizemore and Ben Thompson
Bernadette David Yerumo and Tevin Wilson
Viv Karimakewenda and Beth Huebner
Cynthia Jones and Joshua Collins
Holly Moore and Craig Schauman
Amanda Odum and Malik Daniel
Keisha Price and Dempsey Farmer
Paige Gausmann and Vance Jennings
Deno John and Lance King
Ronnie Todd and Rob Bucklin
Lynise DeVance and James Murphy

Mixed 9.0 Doubles
Anne Lyford and Chris Brown
Tracy Santrock and Ray Boehmer 
Tanya Parise and Joseph Smith
Sue Baer and Carl Titka
​Jennifer Shenk and Aaron Hiller
Sheryletta Lacewell and Kenny Kornegay
Hannah Lebowitz an Aldrin Hewakopara
​Elizabeth Joyce and Justin Akonful
Jayce Gaither and John McLean 

Mixed Open
Ellie and Luke Johnson
Caylan Ashworth and Simon Cagle
Kris McGrath and Cameron Rosenow
Mary Katherine Walston and Simon Collis

Tournament Committee
 Anna Mercer-McLean, Sarah Baldwin,  Vern Harper, Joyce Mcgee, Bruce Parker, Lynise DeVance, Melvin Tolbert, James Robbins, and  Larry Greene